CureZone   Log On   Join
difficult subject

ajgasper Views: 4,643
Published: 17 y

This is a reply to # 1,070,674

difficult subject

Hi,

This thread has been something else. Some of the specifics of each person on this thread reflect my background. However, the thoughts of my children and parenting.... I'm 56. My son is 16, and my daughter is 14. I don't know that there is a right or wrong. You wake up in the morning, and with your mind think what can I do good today, and with your heart you say, "I will do it". Does it turn out that way? Many times no, but should that stop someone? It's not trying that's wrong, and it's far easier to not try.

I don't think God has ever given a father two better children. There really have not been any real issues. They do well in school. They have friends.

There are always internal battles. I fight the demons from my past. I struggle in areas I have no experience in. My children have grown up totally different than me, and thus I don't always understand where they are coming from. There is also the aspect of projecting/protecting them from the horrors I experienced. However, those things don't exist in their lives. I can beat myself up over "could of, should of, would of". However, at some point they have to take responsibility for their actions.

Human beings are pretty resilient. I just hope they remember and understand.