CureZone   Log On   Join
PLEASE Help with Replacement Decision.

tobi888 Views: 8,455
Published: 20 y

PLEASE Help with Replacement Decision.

I have 8 Amalgam fillings that need to be replaced with "non-toxic" alternatives. 6 normal sized ones on bottom molars, two small ones on upper molars.

I have been doing extensive research for about 4 months and have read the recommended materials...plus. Anyway, to get to the point I need some advice about on the following matters. I simply can't find the answers on my own.

I went to a consultation as they like to call it. Paid money for it. Went fine. Dentist recommends a material called Herculite XRV. Now I have been reading a lot of past posts here and people say I had mercury ones replaced by "the white one" or "metal-free ones" or "resin based ones"...yet every single time no one mentions the brand.

I would like to know what some of the knowledgeable members think about Herculite XRV. THe dentist called it a metal free filling, but I know it is not. Nor is any filling based on my research. There is no such thing, from what I can tell.

When they talk about resin (glass filled resins), they aren't talking about "glass", they are talking about aluminum and most notably BARIUM. It is glass filled the way Amalgam is a "silver" filling.

Herculite XRV is supposed to be among the better ones. This is what it has:
Barium --> A known Toxic Metal.
Aluminum --> a known Toxic Metal.
Titaium --> I think Ti is OK on its own.
and another metal I can't remember now. The barium and aluminum are mixed into a compound called bariumaluminoxide or something like that. I am just going by memory here. The composition is for sure, but I don't know how much metal is there by weight 100% for sure. I have read 60% by weight, but this weight info was from website.