CureZone   Log On   Join
Flagyl helps but symptoms keep coming back :/ Help?

thislittebluebird Views: 1,062
Published: 6 y

Flagyl helps but symptoms keep coming back :/ Help?

I'm a 23-year-old college student and have been struggling with bad gut issues on/off for the last 4 years. I'm feeling very confused on what to do and how to keep my health together. The only thing that has really helped me over the years for my bad episodes has been Flagyl (Metronidazole), but I'm afraid it will stop working and it is obviously not entirely killing whatever is causing my issues since I need to keep taking it.

My health journey in a nutshell: I started getting terrible GI symptoms after having to go on penicillin for a wisdom tooth extraction back in 2014. I had had food intolerances and some gut issues before that for a few years, but after that everything went to shit, literally. I couldn't eat and had diarrhea and nausea for months and I lost nearly 10 kg (which is bad since I am already fairly slim). I was even at the hospital and had blood tests, x-rays, a colonoscopy and endoscopy that all came out clear. I even had the basic parasitic panel done, but I know those aren't always accurate and can miss things. I was basically dying until a doctor diagnosed me with "an unidentified stomach infection" (she thought it could be C.Diff too since it started after the Penicillin) and put me on Flagyl 500mg 3 times a day for 10 days.

I was able to go to college and function after that for a year, though I still had gut issues. After that I've done functional medicine testing (since all the conventional tests claimed I was perfectly healthy lol) and I showed up with dysbiosis (imbalanced ratio of bad to good bacteria) and Candida. I treated those over the years with probiotics and anti-fungals (I've done both medical and natural anti-fungals).