CureZone   Log On   Join
Don't Feel Well - Poor Motivation, Concentration Issues - Not sure if Thyroid, ADHD, or something else

chris28 Views: 2,248
Published: 8 years ago

Don't Feel Well - Poor Motivation, Concentration Issues - Not sure if Thyroid, ADHD, or something else

I am wondering if anyone can help me. I don't know what is wrong, but I just don't feel right. I am not sure if it's thyroid related, adrenal fatigue, or something else. I've seen a Psychiatrist in the past, but it was little help. He told me that it's probably ADHD and recommended stimulants. I hated taking them, and they only improved my symptoms about 60-70%. I felt like they were just masking the problem. I am a 28 year old male.

My major issue is low motivation and poor concentration. I can't focus at all and accomplish nothing in a typical day. I spend hours staring at my computer screen. Just writing this post is excruciatingly difficult. I've been trying to construct a coherent message since this morning. When something is complicated, I avoid it altogether. There are so many things that I want to do, but I just can't do them.

If I need to do something that requires prolonged concentration, my brain can't handle it. I feel like my mind is saying, "Stop. This is too exhausting, difficult, overwhelming, and complicated." When I'm not working, I do almost nothing productive (listen to music and watch TV). That's all that I can handle. When I try to accomplish anything, it tends to go unfinished. I occasionally have some enthusiasm (at least initially), but my follow-through is poor. I procrastinate horribly and can't stand how lazy I am.

I also have some minor social anxiety and OCD symptoms. I took an SSRI back in 2009, but it did nothing beneficial. If anything, it seems to have permanently affected my short-term memory.

I would go to the doctor, but I can't handle it. I'd have to find one, and then my social anxiety would make it impossible to book an appointment.