During fermentation, the lactose in mare's milk is converted into lactic acid, ethanol and carbon dioxide, and the milk becomes an accessible source of nutrition for people who are lactose intolerant.
Date: 1/31/2016 3:47:54 AM ( 6 y ) ... viewed 953 times
Kumis is a dairy product similar to kefir, but is produced from a liquid starter culture, in contrast to the solid kefir "grains". Because mare's milk contains more sugars than cow's or goat's milk, when fermented, kumis has a higher, though still mild, alcohol content compared to kefir.
I am reasonably confident that I would enjoy kumis. I have a friend who boards horses. I'd like to ask her if she has ever milked a mare.
milk fermentation, lactose, mare's milk, lactic acid, nutrition lactose intolerant, dairy product
Add This Entry To Your CureZone Favorites!Print this page
Email this page