CureZone   Log On   Join
fecal transplants available in US

brightmedicine Views: 5,531
Published: 13 y

fecal transplants available in US

Hi,
I'm a naturopathic doctor in Portland, Oregon, USA. I'm launching a colon health retreat program this January, performing fecal transplants (properly known as fecal microbiota transplantation, or FMT) for people with UC, IBS, chronic constipation, Crohn's disease, and even autoimmune disease.
If you'd like to know more, please check out ProbioticInfusion.com, email me, or respond to this post.
Answers to a couple of frequently asked questions:

Q. Do you use Antibiotics ?
Some patients experience excellent outcomes with FMT without Antibiotics . And, there is no clear evidence that using Antibiotics makes FMT more effective. Honestly, we don't even know if it's the presence of a "bad" bacterium or the absence of a "good" bacterium, or just an imbalance that contributes to the conditions that FMT addresses, so killing off a random subset of bacteria doesn't seem like responsible medicine to me, particularly since these antibiotics come with risks of their own.
That being said, the Antibiotic therapy is part of a respected protocol, so I will prescribe them if the patient insists that they want them. I do require that you read and sign a waiver which lists the risks of the antibiotics and states that you are aware of them. Also, I won't prescribe them without having an in-person office visit first, so if you live far away, you either have to make two trips out here or arrive here 7-10 days before the retreat.

Q. Do you deliver FMT via colonoscopy?