CureZone   Log On   Join
Re: lung cancer that spread to liver/ lymph nodes

patientadvocate Views: 3,120
Published: 16 years ago

This is a reply to # 1,273,558

Re: lung cancer that spread to liver/ lymph nodes

Chemo has better success if alternatives are used with chemo.

Please click on my user name and read some of the articles I have written.

Chemo on its own is a wash in my opinion.

I am not anti-chemo, just very pragmatic about its use.

Dquitoxi- is basically right. There is no statistical data which suggests the chemo cures cancer, with one or two exceptions being early cancer, and chemo sensative cancers like testicular etc. The other way chemo is successful is if it is used as just one weapon of many. Combining alternatives with chemo makes perfect sense and I have written some articles about what you should take with chemo, during chemo, and after chemo, should you go this route.

As a nurse I have seen hundreds of tumor sites shrink, or disappear only to reappear down the road. It's very predictable. Each time something is taken out of the patient by the chemo, they never seem to fully recover to precancer condition. Fatigue, forgetful, infections, flue, stamina, food intolerances seem to linger.

As an advocate I always recommend six month check ups even after five years of remission. If in fact early detection is the hallmark of curing with chemo, then why would we have annual check-ups? Goodness, I get annual physical myself and I am not a cancer patient! So, Six months for six years minnimum!!!!!!

To suddenly turn around and find reoccurence all over the body is unexcusable to me. The A.M.A. should take every cancer patient through six month check ups for six years maybe seven but not five, or three.

This is why an advocate can be a life savor. A licensed nurse can intervene on the patients behalf and demand six month check ups be covered by insurance.