CureZone   Log On   Join

Mercola against Ozone air purifiers. Opinions? by UserX ..... Oxygen Therapies Support Forum

Date:   4/3/2006 11:53:59 AM ( 18 y ago)
Hits:   15,011
URL:   https://www.curezone.org/forums/fm.asp?i=447475

1 readers agree with this message.  Hide votes     What is this?

Hi,

does anyone have an opinion on this?

I'm still pretty new to the oxygen therapy thing, so i don't know myself.

But I have tended to believe what dr mercola has said in the past.

taken from http://www.mercola.com/forms/air_purifiers.htm

"But, because ozone is an oxidizer -- always trying to give away its extra atom -- high, sustained levels of ozone in the air near the ground can be harmful to humans, plants and animals."

"NEVER use Ozone Generators that use ozone as their primary source of purification!

Ozone is an unstable oxygen molecule (O3) that oxidizes anything it bumps into. So if it "bumps" into iron, it makes iron oxide or rust. Ozone air purifiers work by propelling the ozone by a fan, whatever the ozone bumps into it oxidizes. This is great for removing odors, killing mold and mildew -- and even killing small animals with enough exposure!

If a home is flooded or has a sewage backup, professionals will use this technology to help clean up the mess. Since people and pets are removed while the ozone is applied and are only brought back after the ozone is removed, this is an appropriate use of the technology.

Still, there are several firms that sell ozone air purifiers for home use. This can be dangerous because overexposure to ozone can bring on asthma symptoms, and a high enough level of ozone can actually scar your lungs! Beware of the following misleading sales pitches often used by retailers trying to sell ozone purifiers for residential use: