CureZone   Log On   Join
Re: watch out for the adrenals

Fonty Views: 7,078
Published: 17 y

This is a reply to # 1,015,751

Re: watch out for the adrenals

I'm sorry you had that negative experience of fasting. But I still say you are generalising because of it. I have done a 10 day and a 30 day fast while working a stressful full time job. During those fasts I was a karate instructor and continued to teach and participate in strenuous instructor classes each week, only standing aside in the last week of it as after nearly four weeks of not eating I felt it best not to risk passing out doing a full workout. I only did what I felt it safe to do. Maybe what the advice given to pregnant women is worth listening to here: continue doing exercise up the level you have been doing it prior to becoming pregnant but no more.. and only as long as you feel safe doing it.
As for the stress, fasting had me feeling more at peace at work.. the stress was still there but it had little chance of sending me over the edge during those fasts, whereas at a later time it did exactly that. Getting the motivation up to fast is not something to waste in my opinion. Once I have the motivation, taking into account what I can know of the immediate future and avoiding the worst of life's stresses during that time, I will grab hold of that motivation and hold on to it and cherish it. My life is never fully without stress but my fasts have never agravated my stress levels, quite the opposite they are good for it.