Yea, but if you want to eat gluten free, you would probably know. Or, as in my case, I don't even buy products containing "binders, fillers, excipients, extenders, malt, and natural flavorings" usally. And starch for example is usually gluten free starch, unless it says otherwise, at least where I live (like "wheat starch").
I agree that you have to be very careful when trying to avoid gluten, but I still haven't heard of "hidden gluten". If you know what products or ingredients of those products are made of, you can probably deduce if that product contains gluten.. and if you can't don't buy it :)
I've been gluten free for a while now, but only for the most part. Still using some products that say "might contain traces of gluten". Don't know how much of a problem that is. I do wash them in hot water before using them (flax seeds, quinoa, buckwheat, millet). I'm going to get them guaranteed glutenfree soon, but so far I've been using them.